How to Read Your Credit Report, Line by Line
Most people look at a credit report the way they look at a phone bill: they check the total and skip the rest. But a credit report has no total. It is a list of accounts, each with a dozen fields, and the score you care about is built from those fields. If you cannot read them, you cannot tell whether the score is built on facts.
This guide walks through a report section by section and field by field. It is written by the Credit Consultants Association, which trains and certifies credit professionals. You do not need a professional to read your own report, and we would rather you didn't hire one until you have.
Getting the real reports
There are three nationwide credit bureaus — Equifax, Experian, and TransUnion — and each keeps its own file on you. They do not share data with each other, so the three reports are usually similar but rarely identical. Read all three.
The official source is AnnualCreditReport.com, the site the bureaus operate under federal law. Reports there are free, and since 2023 the bureaus have made free weekly access permanent. That site gives you the full report. A score app, a bank's "free score" widget, or a monitoring service shows you a summary built for a screen, and summaries drop fields. When something looks wrong, go to the full report.
Note that a credit report and a credit score are different products. The report is the data. The score is a number a formula computes from the data, and there are dozens of formulas. This guide is about the data.
The five sections of a report
Layouts differ by bureau, but every report contains the same five kinds of information:
- Personal information — names you have used, current and former addresses, date of birth, employers, and a partial Social Security number. Nothing here affects a score, but a name or address you have never used can mean a mixed file (someone else's data) or identity theft.
- Accounts (also called tradelines) — every credit card, loan, mortgage, and line of credit, open or closed, that a lender has reported. This is where scores are built.
- Collections — debts that have been placed with or sold to a collection agency. Some bureaus show these inside the accounts section; others separate them.
- Public records — today this means bankruptcies. Civil judgments and tax liens were removed from the bureaus' files in 2017–2018 and are no longer reported.
- Inquiries — a list of who has pulled your report and when, split into inquiries you authorized (hard) and those you did not (soft).
Anatomy of an account
Each account entry is a set of fields the lender transmits to the bureau, usually monthly, in a standard format called Metro 2. The labels vary slightly by bureau. Here is what each one means:
| Field | What it means | What to check |
|---|---|---|
| Creditor / furnisher | The company reporting the account. May be a servicer rather than the brand on your card. | You recognize it, or can trace it to an account you had. |
| Account number | Partially masked. Used to distinguish accounts with the same creditor. | Two entries with the same number are a duplicate. |
| Account type | Revolving (cards, lines of credit), installment (car, student, personal loans), mortgage, or open (must be paid in full each month). | The type is correct. A card reported as installment distorts utilization. |
| Responsibility | Individual, joint, authorized user, or co-signer. | You are not listed as individually liable on an account you only used as an authorized user. |
| Date opened | When the account began. | Matches your records. This drives account-age factors in scoring. |
| Status | Open, closed, paid, transferred, charged off, in collection, and so on. | "Closed by consumer" versus "closed by grantor" is a common error; so is an account paid in full still showing a balance. |
| Payment status | Current, or the number of days past due right now (30/60/90/120/150/180), or charge-off. | A closed or paid account should not still show as past due. |
| Balance | What the furnisher says you owed as of the date reported. | Zero on paid accounts. Reasonable on open ones — remember it is a snapshot from the last statement, not today. |
| Credit limit / high balance | For revolving accounts, the limit. If no limit is reported, some scoring models substitute the highest balance ever carried, which can make utilization look far worse than it is. | The limit is present and correct. |
| Original amount / terms | For loans: the amount borrowed and the monthly payment or number of months. | Matches the note you signed. |
| Date reported / last updated | When the furnisher last sent data. | An open account not updated in a year is stale; ask why. |
| Date of first delinquency | The date you first missed a payment and never caught up. Explained below — this is the field that matters most. | Not later than reality. |
| Comments / remarks | Codes and short notes: "account closed at consumer's request," "settled for less than full balance," "consumer disputes this account," "included in bankruptcy." | Remarks are accurate and not left over from a resolved situation. |
| Payment history | A month-by-month grid, usually the last 24 to 84 months. | Read it. Section below. |
The four dates, and which one matters
Reports carry several dates per account, and confusing them is the most common misreading.
- Date opened tells you the account's age. Older is better for scoring.
- Date reported (or last updated) is a bookkeeping date. It changes every time the furnisher sends data. It has nothing to do with how long a negative item will remain.
- Date of last activity / last payment is informational. In some states it matters for the statute of limitations on the debt; it does not govern credit reporting.
- Date of first delinquency (DOFD) is the date the account first went past due in the run of missed payments that led to charge-off or collection. Under the Fair Credit Reporting Act, the seven-year reporting period for that negative information runs from a point 180 days after this date — regardless of when it was reported, sold, paid, or updated. A collector who lists a later DOFD than the original creditor is "re-aging" the debt, which is unlawful.
When someone tells you a paid collection "resets the clock," they are confusing date reported with DOFD. Payment does not move the DOFD. See the seven-year rule versus the statute of limitations for the full picture.
Reading the payment history grid
The grid is a calendar of the account, one cell per month, marked with a code:
- OK, ✓, or a green cell — paid as agreed that month.
- 30, 60, 90, 120, 150, 180 — the payment was that many days late as of that month's report.
- CO — charged off. CL — collection. RF — repossession/foreclosure. VS — voluntary surrender.
- A dash or blank — no data reported that month. Common and not negative.
Read a delinquency as a sequence. A real missed payment produces a run — 30, then 60, then 90 — until you catch up or the account charges off. A lone "30" surrounded by OKs is possible (one late payment, then caught up), but a lone "90" with no 30 or 60 before it is a data error: an account cannot be ninety days late without first being thirty and sixty days late. The grid also reveals the DOFD: it is the first late cell in the run that ended in charge-off.
Recent lates weigh far more than old ones. A 30-day late from six years ago is nearly invisible to a score; one from last quarter is not.
Collections and charge-offs
These often appear as two entries for one debt, and that is not automatically wrong.
A charge-off is the original creditor's accounting entry — after roughly 180 days of nonpayment it writes the debt off as a loss. The account stays on your report, marked charged off, usually showing the balance at charge-off (or zero if sold). A collection entry is the agency now holding the debt. One debt, two tradelines, is normal. What is not normal:
- The original creditor shows a balance and the collector shows the same balance, after the debt was sold. The seller should report zero, "transferred," or "sold."
- Two different collection agencies both report the same debt with balances. Only the current holder should show a balance.
- The collection's DOFD is later than the original account's.
- The collection balance exceeds the charge-off amount without explanation. Interest and fees may be permitted, but the collector has to be able to itemize them.
On medical collections: under the three bureaus' current policies, paid medical collections are removed, unpaid medical collections under $500 are not reported, and new medical collections are not reported until a year after the date of service. These are bureau policies rather than statute and can change, so check the bureaus' current statements if a medical item appears.
Inquiries and public records
Hard inquiries occur when you apply for credit and a lender pulls your report. They remain on the report for two years and typically affect scores for about the first twelve months, and only modestly. Multiple mortgage, auto, or student loan inquiries within a short window are generally treated as one for scoring. A hard inquiry you did not authorize is worth investigating — it can be a sign of identity theft.
Soft inquiries — you checking your own report, pre-approved offers, account reviews by your existing lenders, employment screening — are visible only to you and never affect a score.
Bankruptcy is the only public record still reported. A Chapter 7 remains for ten years from filing; a Chapter 13 is removed by the bureaus after seven years. Accounts included in the bankruptcy should be marked as such with zero balances.
Where errors actually hide
The Federal Trade Commission's study of credit report accuracy found that about one in five consumers had a confirmed error on at least one report, and about one in twenty had errors serious enough to change the terms they were offered. Errors are not evenly distributed. They concentrate in:
- Mixed files — accounts belonging to a relative with a similar name, or a stranger with a similar Social Security number. Look at the personal information section first; an unfamiliar address is the tell.
- Dates of first delinquency on collections, especially debts that have been sold more than once.
- Balances on paid or settled accounts that were never updated to zero.
- Duplicate collections after a debt changes hands.
- Missing credit limits on revolving accounts, which inflate utilization.
- Status codes left over from a past state — "past due" on a closed account, "in dispute" on a resolved one, "closed by grantor" on an account you closed.
- Accounts that should have aged off but are still present.
The fastest way to find an error is to lay the three reports side by side. An account that appears on two reports with one balance and on the third with another is a furnisher problem. An account that appears on only one report is worth understanding — sometimes the lender only reports to one bureau, sometimes the entry doesn't belong to you.
What to do with what you find
Inaccurate, incomplete, or unverifiable information can be disputed with the bureau, with the furnisher, or both — and the bureau has thirty days to investigate. That process is free, and we've written it up in FCRA dispute rights in plain language. If a dispute comes back "verified" and the item is still wrong, read when a bureau won't fix an error.
Accurate information cannot be removed, and anyone who tells you otherwise is describing something either useless or illegal — see how to spot a credit repair scam. If you would rather have help, a certified consultant can review the reports with you; the CCA directory lists professionals who have agreed to a published code of ethics. Either way, read the reports yourself first. You are the only person who knows which accounts are actually yours.
Common questions
Why do my three credit reports show different information?
Lenders choose which bureaus to report to, and many report to only one or two. The bureaus do not share data with each other. Differences are normal; contradictions — different balances or dates for the same account — point to an error at the furnisher.
What is the difference between 'date reported' and 'date of first delinquency'?
Date reported is when the lender last sent data and changes every month. Date of first delinquency is when you first fell behind and never caught up; it determines when a negative item will fall off. Only the DOFD controls the seven-year reporting period.
Does paying a collection reset the seven years?
No. Payment changes the balance and status, not the date of first delinquency, and the reporting period is measured from the DOFD. Paying a collection may still be worthwhile — some scoring models ignore paid collections — but it does not extend or restart the clock.
Why does a closed account still appear on my report?
Closed accounts in good standing generally remain for up to ten years and continue to help your credit history. Closed accounts with negative history remain for seven years from the first delinquency. Closing an account does not remove it.
Are soft inquiries bad for my credit?
No. Soft inquiries — checking your own report, pre-screened offers, account reviews — are visible only to you and never affect a score. Only hard inquiries from applications you submitted are seen by lenders.
Next steps
Once you can read the report, you can act on it. The dispute process is free, and knowing your rights makes it work.